About us

Mission statement

 
 

German

Mission statement

About us

Organizational Chart of the GWZ

Advisory committee

Friends of ZMO

Bulletin

Annual reports

Flyer

Gallery

Trennlinie

 

 

 



 
 

The Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient (ZMO) in Berlin conducts research into the history and society of Islamic regions of the world. The focus is on interdependent regions in the Middle East, Africa, Central, South and Southeast Asia, as well as Europe (including South-South and South-North relations). In the current phase of globalisation, historical understanding of these connections is vitally important. For this reason, researchers from various disciplinary perspectives examine cultural, social, political, and economic processes since the 18th century. ZMO also conducts research on the production of knowledge about Muslim societies.

Collaboration between history, Islamic studies, and ethnology, as well as political science, literary and cultural studies, linguistics and other disciplines, opens the borders traditionally separating regional and disciplinary fields of knowledge. ZMO researchers draw on archival work and empirically substantiated studies based on a broad range of languages, sources, and regional knowledge. The Centre also cooperates closely with researchers from the regions and promotes exchange between science and other forms of knowledge production.

The ZMO’s basic research contributes to a deeper understanding of current problems. Through a wide range of public formats for knowledge transfer, the Centre strives for a broad social impact with its research. Moreover, research results are shared and discussed in the regions under study at ZMO. Thus, ZMO contributes to a close connection between theory and practice as well as a differentiated view of Muslim worlds.

Wir über uns

Leitbild

 
 

flag_eng English

Leitbild

Geschichte

Vernetzung und Kooperation

Wissenstransfer

Chancengleichheit

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

Organigramme

Flyer

Bulletin

Jahresberichte

 

 

 


 


 

Das Berliner Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient (ZMO) forscht zu Geschichte und Gesellschaft islamisch geprägter Regionen. Im Mittelpunkt stehen Verflechtungen verschiedener Regionen im Nahen Osten, in Afrika, Zentral-, Süd- und Südostasien untereinander sowie mit Europa (Süd-Süd- und Süd-Nord-Beziehungen). In der gegenwärtigen Phase der Globalisierung kommt dem historischen Verständnis dieser Verbindungen eine zentrale Bedeutung zu. Deshalb untersuchen die Forschenden aus unterschiedlichen disziplinären Perspektiven kulturelle, soziale, politische und ökonomische Prozesse seit dem 18. Jahrhundert. Das ZMO forscht auch zur Wissensproduktion über muslimische Gesellschaften.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Geschichtswissenschaft, Islamwissenschaft und Ethnologie sowie Politik-, Literatur-, Kulturwissenschaften, Linguistik und weiteren Disziplinen überschreitet die gängigen Grenzen regionaler und disziplinärer Wissensfelder. Die Forschenden des ZMO legen auf der Basis breitgefächerter Sprach-, Quellen- und Regionalkenntnisse Wert auf Archivarbeit und empirisch untermauerte Studien. Das Zentrum kooperiert eng mit Forschenden aus den Regionen und fördert den Austausch zwischen Wissenschaft und anderen Formen der Wissensproduktion.

Die Grundlagenforschung des ZMO trägt zum Verständnis aktueller Probleme bei. Einen breiten Gesellschaftsbezug seiner Forschung sichert das ZMO über vielfältige öffentliche Formate des Wissenstransfers. Darüber hinaus werden Forschungsergebnisse auch in den Regionen zur Diskussion gestellt, über die am ZMO gearbeitet wird. Damit trägt das ZMO zu einer engen Verbindung zwischen Theorie und Praxis sowie einer differenzierten Sichtweise auf muslimische Welten bei.

 

Endlinie